1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Help with 1954 F100 6 cylinder - Not running well

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2023, 02:47 PM
Guilddlo
5th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Help with 1954 F100 6 cylinder - Not running well

Hello all.

I have been working on my 1954 F100 off and on for 6 years or so. About a year ago I had it in a condition which I thought it should run and drive ok. After getting it to start and idle a bit, then taking it around the block, I struggled to keep it running after driving it a very short distance. I sent the carb off to be rebuild professionally and after reinstall it idles great, but doesn't road down the road well. Summarizing where I am at:

Symptoms:
-Whitish smoke out of crank case breather and oil cap, not a ton but noticable after driving it a short distance.-Idles well, but when you give it throttle, even when sitting still in neutral, the engine rpm increases sort of sluggishly.
-Similar to the point above, when giving it throttle while driving, it seems sluggish and seems like it starts to struggle to "keep up" after a short distance, sort of caused a bit of a shake at times
-Exhaust has slight black color to it

What I have checked so far:
-Vaccum seems to be ok best I can tell
-Plugs, points, coil, and wires are all new, vacuum advance is new and it seems to be working ok when I check it with a vacuum pump-Battery voltage is good-Seems to be getting plenty of fuel to the carb-I checked that the timing seems to be right based on position of the distributor when cylinder 1 is at TDC
I just seem to be missing something and not sure what to do next. I am currently thinking something still isn't right with the ignition system, or something more major is wrong. Maybe a head gasket or something? I suppose I need to check compression next to see if that provides any clues.