New Member Introductions New to FTE? Introduce yourself here!

Saving a 73 F100

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2021, 12:00 PM
HighnDry
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Saving a 73 F100

Hi everyone,
Let me begin by saying I'm pretty new to Ford trucks. Last fall I bought my 2004 F350 Super Duty Crew cab long bed 6.0 diesel. I loved the truck from the beginning. The dealer I bought it from sold it to me with the understanding that it would have to be put back to stock to pass emissions, on his dime. It had been EGR deleted and straight piped. I only had it about three weeks when I had to hand it back over to be made legal again and the dealer loaner was the most disgusting piece of crap Rav4 that ever rolled on four dry rotted tires... I had it for a weekend before I limped it back and dropped it off, got an uber out of there. Long story short the dealer had my diesel for three weeks before I could get it back. Well I had been shopping for trucks for a couple of months and I had been watching an ad for this 1973 F100. It was cheap, it was rough, it was all primer where it wasn't rust and I kept looking at the ad.... I contacted the owner and he met me to see the truck. His son had the truck and had let someone "rebuild" the carb and "rewire" the loom. The battery was dead, the tires were dry rotted and one was flat, the bed was full of crap including four more 15s with 33s on them. He boosted the battery and poured gas down the carb, it fired right up and ran.... for a few seconds. I checked the oil and the coolant, both were ok He said it needed brakes and he guaranteed the trans was good. I told him I would think about it and let him know. Well I didn't think about it long. I got an uber go buy it. So I met him, paid him, and took care of the paperwork. There was an autozone about a block away from where it was parked so I walked over and bought a battery and new terminals, a set of standard wrenches and one of those cigarette lighter compressors. I walked back