Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ignition Issues 91 F150 5.0

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2020, 06:24 PM
DrewKY
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ignition Issues 91 F150 5.0

Just purchased 91 F150 XL 5.0 V8. Engine sounds good but knew it had some issues when I got it. I’m a shop carpenter and pretty mechanically inclined, just don’t know much about auto mechanics. Thought I would “get involved” as my friend says. Fixed a bunch of stuff related to a non functioning temp gauge on the dash and now it won’t start.

The first thing I wanted to fix was the temperature sending unit. While I was doing that I noticed the idle air control looked new, but wasn’t hooked up. When I plugged it in the truck would idle high. Unplugged ran fine. Then noticed wires on the throttle position sensor were stripped and crossed. So I took off the throttle body and replaced the TPS, cleaned the throttle body with a Teflon safe throttle body cleaner, replaced the engine coolant sensor, and went a head and replaced the thermostat.

When I finally got it back together I went to start it up and it’s pumping fuel, starter is turning, but not getting ignition. The computer has sent two different codes 31 and 84. I also wondered when trying to get the thermostat housing off if I had maybe jostled the ignition module and damaged it.

Could stuck EGR or bad EGR solenoid prevent spark? Could I have damaged the ignition module on the distributor when loosening the thermostat housing bolts? Any type of reset with battery off for 2 days? It’s just weird cause prior to “fixing things” it fired right up every time.

Old 10-10-2020, 07:06 AM
subford
Fleet Owner
Received 235 Likes on 184 Posts
As for the idle air control valve it sounds like you have intake vacuum leaks letting air in.