1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1955 F100....where to start

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2018, 05:19 PM
02_F-250
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1955 F100....where to start

Hi guys, I'm new to the forums and to F100's. I'm picking up a 55 this weekend and I plan to restore it from the frame up but thought I would ask you guys where I should start? I'm not interested in restoring it to original but I'm just looking for ideas on what should be done first....an "order of operations". I have a lot of experience working on different restorations/builds and a lot of equipment so that's not an issue. Since the cab will be off I plan to C notch the rear, add 4 link suspension, and box in the frame. It already has a Mustang II front end so I don't need to worry about that, but what's next? Fuel system ( I plan to put the tank under the bed )? I just want to have a plan so I don't miss something and end up having to back track....I would like to do it right from the beginning.

Thanks in advance!

Old 11-15-2018, 05:53 PM
jniolon
old and in the way
Received 733 Likes on 262 Posts
welcome to FTE. you''re gonna love it here. Now is the time to take a pencil and write down your wish list... mandatory repairs/replacements and wish list.. bedwood treatment, paint scheme, interior comforts, sound systems. Didn't mention engines but get that list started also.. monster build or cruiser ?? Look over the body and see what can be repaired or replaced and add that to the list (or start another). Start a build log. Take at least 4,264 pictures to start for reference and as you work for memory supplement. Check into process for 401K withdrawals and maybe apply for a line of credit. Sell your golf clubs, you ain't got time for that crap no more... green fees buy truck parts.