Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Weak 4.9 Diagnostics/Help

Old 10-15-2018, 08:23 AM
samthehogman
5th Wheeling
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Weak 4.9 Diagnostics/Help

Alright folks, this is my first post on any of these forums; i'm looking for a little diagnostic help on my truck. I've got a 1996 F150 4x4 regular cab short bed with the 4.9L (300) and 3.55 gears and a 5-speed. I've got 31" tires on it. I bought it about 2.5 years ago and i've enjoyed it. i read that the 4.9 was a great engine-super durable and plenty strong. The whole time i've had it, it's been pretty gutless. I am no mechanic, but i am trying to learn as i go (that's what i bought the truck for, a project and learning to work on stuff). It accelerates alright, it doesnt feel like it would if the oxygen sensors were disconnected (done that), but it's still pretty weak, especially at higher speeds. I've towed a medium size trailer with it with a couple thousand pounds when i was moving one time and it took revving up really high to move it at all. Even with nothing in it except me, i've got to rev it up really good if i want to get it off the line with any speed at all. Since i've read that it's so strong, i'm thinking there must be something wrong with it, but not something that's a huge problem since it runs really smooth and never misfires. It runs best when i first fire it up in the morning and pulls pretty good for about a minute before it starts getting more sluggish. It is very slow to accelerate at highway speeds (again, with nothing in it except me). the only times it ever runs rough is sometimes when it's really hot outside it'll run really slow at idle and sound like it's gonna die (goes down to 500-600 rpm). I bought a bluedriver diagnostics tool that i've been trying to diagnose my issues with.