Sponsored by: Moser

minor problems help

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2003, 08:35 PM
helicon
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
minor problems help

i just bought a 74 ranger xlt, good body and a 390 in good shape. just wanted some advice on some minor problem areas as i'm not an experienced mechanic- a heavy vibration from 30-40mph(tire balance/alignment?) in both neautral and drive, doesnt change on acceleration; also the power steering is squeeking a good amount even after fluid; and theres a high pitch but low level squeeking sound coming from somewhere in the rear. any help is appreciated . . . also, i have a 73 f100 explorer with a 390 that was recently wrecked in the front end(heavy body damage but no internal damage past the radiator) that i was thinking of taking the manual 3spd from and putting in the 74. someone offered to do it for me in exhange for the rest of the 73, but i wasnt sure if this would be worth the truck. the 73 body overall is pretty worn, interior in bad condition. thanks

Old 09-15-2003, 10:37 PM
Ecuri
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
minor problems help

#1 tires balance and/or drive line (U-joints/pinion bearing/output shaft/rear axle bearings) Assuming it doesn't vibrate in park, of course.
#2 loose/glazed/worn belt or restriction in gear box or bind in steering components
#3 dragging brake or rear axle bearing failure imminent, (see #1)
#4 sounds like a poor deal to me. It is a lot of work to retrofit a manual box to an automatic (personally I prefer an auto for a "city truck" and a manual for a "farm/ranch" truck.) However, the 390 has a core value of about $400.00 alone, which (in my mind) is what the job is worth.

Last edited by Ecuri; 09-15-2003 at 10:43 PM.
Old 09-16-2003, 03:58 PM
Native Gearhead
Senior User
minor problems help