rear caliper failure in 2015 Expedition EL XLT

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2018, 05:22 PM
grandisp
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rear caliper failure in 2015 Expedition EL XLT

Hi,
I am new here. I bought a used 2015 expedition EL XLT last January. It is my first Ford. I have been a loyal driver of (insert other foreign car maker here) for 22 years, but needed a bigger car for my family of 6. It has about 48K miles. A couple days ago I started hearing a very very loud metallic grinding sound - sounded exactly like a snowplow on pavement. I got a chance to take it in to my local shop (not dealer) this morning and they said that the driver's side rear caliper seems to have failed. I don't know much about brakes, but they said the right side one is fine (7/32 wear) and the left one the pad inside is completely gone all the way to the backing plate and if you run your finger along it (not sure what 'it' is) metal flakes come up. They said it's very unusual and not normal at all for it to fail like this. I called both Ford dealers in town to ask if there was any kind of recall or extended warranty and they said no. I refuse to go to the dealer unless absolutely necessary as I have had HORRIBLE experiences there, so I am having the local shop do the repair. They said that usually you would replace both sides, but in this case since the right side is almost new they are just going to do the left side (they are doing something to the right side to make sure its even though...sorry, I don't understand much about cars).

I wondered if anyone has heard of this problem in this make/model, or ford in general, or has any idea why this would have happened?

Old 01-12-2018, 08:10 PM
pdqford
Logistics Pro
Received 33 Likes on 30 Posts