Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Looking for advice, possibly purchasing 2002 7.3L

Old 12-20-2017, 09:57 AM
PlorkZ
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for advice, possibly purchasing 2002 7.3L

I'm looking at purchasing a 2002 F-250 Lariat 7.3L crew cab and hoping to get some advice on value and potential things to look for. I'm new to PSD's and diesel in general, but I have some friends and relatives with diesel pickups and I've done some research. Basically it seems there were a number of issues with the 6.0L PSD but the 7.3L if well maintained was pretty much indestructible. I'm looking at getting this truck, but want to avoid any major issues or pitfalls that I'm not experienced enough to look for. The truck is a crew cab 4x4 with 260k miles, completely rust free and interior is in excellent shape, they're asking $9500 for the truck. From the research I've done it seems like the 7.3L can go a lot more miles if maintained, but 'm a little concerned about the miles in regards to the transmission, etc. Anything in particular with this engine or transmission that was a common problem I should check for? btw, I have a lot of experience with gas engines, I do nearly all my own maintenance and repairs, I've done rebuilds and swaps, rebuilt a 4l60E valve body with a trans-go kit, etc. I'm not shy about getting some diesel experience, but I don't want to drop money on the truck just to have something major go wrong, I need a truck that will just work and not be in the shop all the time and want to do my due diligence. Thanks for the help!

Old 12-20-2017, 10:43 AM
Walleye Hunter
Hotshot
Received 888 Likes on 625 Posts