Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dual Fuel Tank Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2017, 07:18 PM
ScottyDoesntMow
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dual Fuel Tank Question

Hello all. I'm new to the Ford truck world, and was hoping I could get a little help with my truck situation. I bought a 95 F-150 XLT 4x4 (supercab, longbed) earlier this year, and I was told at the time that there was a transfer problem between the fuel tanks Upon crawling underneath, I found that the lines just forward of the rear tank have been cut, plugged and clamped, and it looks like someone drilled a hole in the rear tank to drain it, and then plugged it (it's the steel tank). I'm planning on replacing the rear tank and pump, but I'm wondering if anyone can guide me towards what else I might need. Are the fuel lines special fit or just cut and install? Is there some sort of selector valve that needs to replaced as well? Thanks in advance!

Old 11-10-2017, 07:23 PM
timbersteel
Logistics Pro
Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts
Ouch, I hate to know some *** of an owner cut the Stainless Steel flex lines with special slip fit ends. That is definitely a hack job.

I know the OEM lines can't be purchased, but perhaps someone else can direct you to a fix.

Old 11-10-2017, 07:35 PM
ScottyDoesntMow
New User
Originally Posted by timbersteel
Ouch, I hate to know some *** of an owner cut the Stainless Steel flex lines with special slip fit ends. That is definitely a hack job.

I know the OEM lines can't be purchased, but perhaps someone else can direct you to a fix.
It was originally a commercial truck with an illuminated CEL that the owner just didn't want to deal with anymore, so I got it for a song. It turned out to be a simple EGR sensor. The downside is that it was a commercial truck, so nobody really cared about it.

Old 11-11-2017, 07:09 AM