Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Halo Lifts

2.7 ecoboost stalls, dies after towing

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2018, 02:58 PM
NI5L
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I had the same issue with my 2018 2.7 F-150. I hauled my brother's #6000 boat for him for a couple of hours and it did the stall and restart thing on the return trip from the lake to his home. There was no trouble on the way to the lake. It finally started to behave itself after I took it out of tow/haul mode and on the trip back home from Oklahoma to Arizona, there were no issues. I did notice that the tail pipe had blacked up...it has always been pretty clean. There was never any indication of overheating and the truck ran great. It sat down in the rear but handled well on the highway. I was a drivability tech for 25 years and I always get nervous when problems just fix themselves. I think I'll visit with one of the techs at the local Ford house.

I'll be following this thread with keen interest.

Cheers!
Warren

Old 06-18-2018, 07:00 AM
ACADguy
Mountain Pass
Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
Well this is really playing with my head right now. We're getting ready to move my daughter across the state and I just rented a U-Haul trailer to do it. It's a 6 x 12 enclosed and will mainly have her furniture and a few boxes. I really doubt it will be all that heavy and it's only around 250 miles (should be around 4.5 hours as we are not taking any major highways, turnpike tolls SUCK!). I've never towed an enclosed trailer before but I suppose that really doesn't matter. If I have problems with this, I might well should re-think the 2.7. Seems like the problems are occuring after towing much heavier loads for much longer distances.

Old 06-18-2018, 08:25 AM
Tom
Super Moderator
Received 672 Likes on 441 Posts
Originally Posted by ACADguy