Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Timing/Spout Connector Issue 88 F250 460 EFI

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2017, 09:47 AM
mrjustice1324
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Timing/Spout Connector Issue 88 F250 460 EFI

First off, I'm excited to join the 460 Club and build my 460 knowledge with the help of the skilled people on the website. I just want to start out saying that I am by no means a mechanic. I have very little experience under the hood of a gas motor but owned a diesel truck for the last two years (2005 Harley Davidson F-250 with the amazing/dreaded 6.0 ) up until sold it and bought this truck. That being said, I am a mechanical engineer. So the lack of hands on experience I have, I can somewhat make up for with my understanding of concepts so bare with me.

I'm having issues with the timing of my "new-to-me" 1988 F-250 4x4. It has the 460 EFI with the ZF-S542, and I can not get the timing right. The truck is completely stock except headers and exhaust, and I cut the intake horns.

The truck seems to have decent power up until about 3000 rpm and then it just seems to fall on its face. Now I've read that the cam kind of hinders this top end power, but I really felt like it was falling TOO much just to be the cam. After I did some research and got to looking around and piddling with it, I noticed that there was no SPOUT connector plugged in to the plug.....so being as I did not have a connector, I decided to throw a 20 amp fuse in the plug and see what happens. When I plugged the fuse in, I noticed the timing advanced so I was assuming that it would run a little better....boy was I wrong. I hit the throttle from under the hood a few times and found that it would sputter and pop real bad, almost like spark knock. I attempted to drive it down the road and that just was not happening.