First time painting - Criticism welcome

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2017, 12:57 PM
Benztechnc
FTE Chapter Leader
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
First time painting - Criticism welcome

So first time painting. Picked up a bed doors fenders. Reusing the cowl, cab and front valence. Completely forgot the fuel doors.

So far the cab has barely been touched. Started with the loose pieces. Full time job 8-6, so most things happen on the weekends. The local FTE chapter has been out several times to help with moving and sanding, plus other friends. The time invested with all these hands is making things move fairly quickly.

Really looking for feedback, atta boys, name calling or any type of feedback on this, as i won't learn or get it right if I don't at least know what I am doing wrong.

So far:

DA - 60\80 grit.
low spots - bare metal -bondo brand filler - resand.
holes (for ladder rack) - fiberglass - sand - bondo - sand

2k urethane primer sprayed. This is my first time trying paint. I'm sure I have bit off more than I can chew. Been block sanding the first 2k primer with 220-320- and 400 grit paper.

Core support cracked.

First Bed Sanding

FTE North Carolina Chapter (not all active members showed up, but help is here)

New Spray guns

Sanding Cowl.

Cowl and hood prepped

running out of places to put things.

Bed - pre primer

Bed primed

front panel

header panel primed (and welded and POR'd) POR since it sat around the longest.

Pass fender - used - needs more sanding feathering.

Drivers fender -new- one ding in the body line - the area that meets the a-pillar was bent 180 over.

hood - used- crappy paint before hand. however very very very straight. Mixture was off on the paint (3:1:1 instead of 4:1:1)

Old 05-04-2017, 01:47 AM
tbm3fan
Cargo Master
Received 41 Likes on 31 Posts
Bondo brand filler as sold in auto parts stores saying Bondo on the can? Me, Evercoat all the time.