Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

96 f150 reverse sounds/smells bad

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2003, 10:34 PM
f150junkie
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 96 f150 reverse sounds/smells bad

I recently purchased a 96 F-150, 98,000 miles on this straight 6 with 4x4. I am smitten with my first Pick up ever.

Overall truck runs well however when in reverse (particularly going up hill) the truck groans and when existing the vehicle there is a smell like burnt brakes or rubber.

I am not going to attempt to fix it myself, but do not want pay for something I do not need.

I am not very good with trucks but pretty decent with a keyboard, imagine my delight in finding a forum full of Ford guru's.
but

Any help much appreicated.

Old 09-01-2003, 09:09 PM
Duderoy
Tuned

Your rear slack adjustor/s might be messed up since it has drum brakes in the rear. I would jack up the rear end and put it in reverse- see if it still does it and feel the drums and see if their hot or not. Also may want to check your park brake cable, see if it's releasing all the way.

Welcome to FTE by the way. Great sorce of info. here.

Old 09-02-2003, 03:33 AM
LibertyOrDeath
New User

Could be like Duderoy said, but it sounds like it could also be a clutch problem. I had a similar problem (only in 5th gear instead of reverse). It turned out to be a weak diaphragm on the clutch plate, and also a badly worn shift bushing (located on the top of the transmission, where the shift lever enters). A little more costly than I would have liked, but 30,000 miles later not a single problem.

Old 09-02-2003, 01:12 PM
f150junkie
New User

I appreciate the feedback. I am glad to have some alternate starting points to learn about/bring to the Ford dealer later this week.