2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Trailer pulling

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2017, 11:27 PM
2BSDowner
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trailer pulling

I am new to pulling trailers at least anything that I would need a SD for. So excuse my ignorance…

In towing there are 3 basic problems, correct?

Over loading the trailer
Having too much tongue weight
Having too little tongue weight

Have I missed any?

I know they are all bad but which is the worst case?

I got to thinking about this because of the recent Weigh Safe Hitch posts. How does the WSH help? Don’t get me wrong I think the WSH is a very intriguing product. As far as I can see in order to effectively use the WSH I have to know the weight of the trailer as loaded. Then I can confirm the tongue weight percentage.

Old 02-27-2017, 11:44 PM
theboom
Tuned
Received 24 Likes on 19 Posts
Originally Posted by 2BSDowner
I am new to pulling trailers at least anything that I would need a SD for. So excuse my ignorance…

Over loading the trailer
Having too little tongue weight

Have I missed any?

I got to thinking about this because of the recent Weigh Safe Hitch posts. How does the WSH help? Don’t get me wrong I think the WSH is a very intriguing product. As far as I can see in order to effectively use the WSH I have to know the weight of the trailer as loaded. Then I can confirm the tongue weight percentage.
The weigh safe hitch just shows you how much weight is on the tongue of the trailer. Then yes if you know the weight of the trailer, its simple math and reading what the hitch says to get the right percentage. Really cool hitch.

Yes you have got it down pretty much. In addition to your 3 listed, I would add your payload rating, gcwr, and max towing. Make sure you don't exceed any of them. Some people may say different but if I had to pick the worse one it would be not enough tongue weight. Can cause MAJOR stability issues.