1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Flathead bogging down question

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2016, 02:56 PM
dlb.motorman
Junior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Flathead bogging down question

Hi all, I have a question for the flathead experts out there. I've been working on my 1950 Ford F1 with V8 Flathead for 6-7 years now. Yeah, takes a long time. I don't get out to the shop all that often. I've done a complete restoration of the frame and engine so far. The engine has been complete and sitting in the frame for almost two years now. I leave the battery on trickle charge and give it a start every few months. It usually goes through a couple of quarts of fuel just fine. In fact I've run it around the yard a few times. No throttle control, so I leave it at about 1200 rpm and slip the clutch to run around the yard a time or two.

I broke in the engine with break-in additive. Except for having a full-flow oil system, the flathead is in stock configuration.

Now the question. I started it yesterday. It was about 80 degrees out. I ran it for a few minutes and then the RPMs started to decline. I tried to WOT, but it still continued to slow down, like it was over-rich but I don't think it was. I let it cool for a few minutes, although it didn't seem any hotter than normal. I then hit the starter again and it fired up just fine. Then a couple minutes later it did the same thing. If I didn't know better, I'd say it acted like it didn't have any oil in it and it was binding up as it got hot. Oil looked good. What could be going on?

Old 06-12-2016, 03:25 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 613 Likes on 380 Posts
What are you using for a gas tank?

Old 06-12-2016, 04:21 PM
dlb.motorman
Junior User
I am using a plastic gas tank I have with a screw on plastic lid. It is about 2 liters I'd say. It is strapped to a running board support.

Old 06-12-2016, 05:49 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner