1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Finally after all these years, a floor mounted console!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2016, 11:02 AM
Mikey_23_ny1
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Finally after all these years, a floor mounted console!!

Hello all,
Ive been a Ford van owner since the 1990's. Ive been riding in ford vans since the early 1980's with my father. It always bugged me on how these vans never had a console between the seats. The screwdriver or water bottle skirting across the floor board at a panic stop has always been fun for me.

I know the Rubbermaid container between the seat method is quite sufficient however i had some free time on my hands and also wanted to share. Any other custom consoles out there? Would love to see.. Thanks

edit: I'm not very happy with the black console lid that i made myself using an old leather jacket and carpet pad. I think ill cut another piece of MDF and send it out to an upholstery shop. I think it would look much better in the seat color gray.

Old 03-13-2016, 11:23 AM
Conanski
FTE Legend
Received 984 Likes on 776 Posts
Nice job.. the LED lighting is a nice touch. Curious why you cutout the rear and bottom though?

Old 03-13-2016, 11:36 AM
annaleigh
Logistics Pro
Received 167 Likes on 154 Posts
I think it looks great myself and you do wonderful work! I like the LED touch.

My father built one years ago for his e100 shorty converted vampervan. IT was about the same size as yours and had a cushion on top so a third person could sit up front if they wanted to. (that was before seat belt laws) But his had a twist built into it.. Being a shorty van you have to utilize all the space you can. You remember the old baby training potties with the removable porcelain pot you slide out and clean after they used it? Instead of storage, his doubled as a seat and porta potty in case of emergency!

Old 03-13-2016, 12:00 PM
Mikey_23_ny1
Senior User