1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

new guy with an 86 f150

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2016, 07:48 PM
GenialLucifer
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new guy with an 86 f150

Hello fellow Ford Truck Enthusiast,

I would like to introduce my self and the 86 f150 I just acquired. I'm a welder and I've been a gear head all my life. I'm regularly a volkswagen guy but no stranger to Fords. I drove a 62 Galaxie for about 5 years. I just got back into a Ford when I sold my VW rabbit pickup, needed something a little more practical for work.

Now on to the truck. Its a 1986 F150 "4x2" with a 300 six and a four speed manual trans. As far as i can tell its bone stock and hasn't been "hacked up" "back cobbled" or "abused" by any unskilled mechanics. It is old though and has a few issues at the moment. Thats what brings me to the FTE forums. I hope to get some help bringing this great truck back to its former glory.

Here it is the day after I picked it up. Thats my fiancé creeping in the back ground. lol.

Attached Images  
Old 02-13-2016, 07:53 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,713 Likes on 1,385 Posts
Those old sixes never die but the electronic systems that run them do like to give trouble. You probably have the one with the computer in it that controls the carb and the timing.

Old 02-13-2016, 07:59 PM
FuzzFace2
Fleet Owner
Received 2,154 Likes on 1,830 Posts
Welcome to the forum the guys here are a lot of help when you need it.
Dave ----

Old 02-14-2016, 12:22 AM
GenialLucifer
New User
Not sure what the problem is but the engine is missing and won't rev past 3000rpm.
acts the same way in neutral and under load.
I checked the compression, getting 140psi +or- 5psi on all cylinders after 4 or 5 cranks.
I checked and reset the timing at 10* btdc, after that it revs to 3000 before it would only rev to ~2200 rpm.
I also checked the cap and rotor and they look fine.