1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

Ranger 1990 vs New owner (DTC 14 & others)

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2015, 09:03 AM
AderisKD
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ranger 1990 vs New owner (DTC 14 & others)

Good morning, everyone. I bought an old, beautiful Ranger '90 truck (reads 271259, assuming it's rolled over since the second-to-last digit is the one that reads single miles, [27125.9, so over 125k miles on it?] a couple months ago and have been working hard to fix it. It came with a defective ICM, has not received appropiate maintenance in almost two years, and has "dry" looking tires. The good points about it are the recent (5 years old) paint job, and the transmission repair it got 4 years ago.

Therefore, I humbly ask for your tips and feedback on how to restore it to proper working condition. I am very new to vehicle maintenance, but I haven't had many issues handling most things myself and I like to play hard-working DIY-guy. Some things, of course, I'll let my (trustworthy) mechanic handle, but I'd like to take care of everything I can. This said:

The actual issues:
Occasional (2-4 per month) stalls (Used to happen more often, cleaning the CKP sensor connector and others has helped)
Engaging the reverse gear causes a nasty "kick" and metallic sound 50% of the time (fixed temporarily with the recent trans fluid change, but happens again)
Lack of power (partially fixed, again, apparently)

What has been FIXED:
Vehicle greatly slows down and gets really sluggish after a while on the highway on overdrive (fixed with a trans fluid change, apparently the old fluid was losing viscosity at high temps)
Vehicle has very little power and there's a constant Check Engine Light (ICM was defective, it was replaced with a Duralast F138)
Air and fuel filters have been replaced