New V10 Owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2014, 08:23 PM
7racecar7
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New V10 Owner

Hello,

I am a new f250 V10 owner, I am still reading through all the threads so if there are post about this sorry for the repeat...but I have a few questions I'm looking for advice on.

My truck is a 2001 with 130k, in good condition, well at least from the looks of things, little rust, well maintained.

I would like to change spark plugs, and replace headers (if not soon in future), but I've read about broken spark plugs and broken head studs. I just bought the truck from a dealer....should I dive into it or let it go, i dont want to open up a can of worms.

Also a friend recommended air bags, do they make a big difference? I tow a racecar on weekends the car and trailer with equipment weight about 8-9k lbs.

Thank you for any advice....

Old 05-28-2014, 10:20 PM
Army RET
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I am not an expert, but I have my opinion.

My background ... I'm a cheap Charlie and if it doesn't affect safety then I generally leave it alone. Rust won't leave you stranded. Neither will a bad plug or two. I've NEVER replaced headers.

I suspect that you're towing within the weight limits and don't need airbags.

With that said, I did initially change my unknown 2002 F250 fluids (tranny, rear end, motor).

Now if you're towing across country and absolute reliability is important then I'd suggest a much newer tow vehicle.

Old 05-28-2014, 10:47 PM
Hank85713
Cargo Master
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
There is a TSB on how to pull the plugs for newer 5.4's and I would guess the v10. Pretty easy if you know about it, you can find on the ford website or here in the archives. Biggest thing is the carbon buildup, but I dont think that effects your year. What I have read about are the older v10's spitting plugs, so do a search on that and how to helicoil the hole if it happens.