Fuel filler vent line question

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2014, 11:47 AM
hhight
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Fuel filler vent line question

Hey, y'all, quick question.

I recently acquired a 1978 F250 Camper Special, 400 CID, twin tanks, and am having to fix a few things on it. Well, quite a few things on it, actually.

The rear filler hose is disconnected at the filler pipe up top, that explains why the fuel I added went onto the ground. No prob.

The mid tank filler hose is connected, but the vent hose is not. It's disconnected right where it would connect to the filler pipe (near the gas cap) but when I add fuel to that tank, it takes some in, then some gas comes out of the vent line! What would cause that, and would simply reconnecting it prevent that?

Is there some mechanical voodoo going on with the filler neck that prevents gas from escaping through the vent line? BTW, the tank is almost empty. Thanks in advance, this truck needs TLC and I'm new to all of this.

Old 03-17-2014, 12:29 PM
fmc400
MSEE
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
Originally Posted by hhight
when I add fuel to that tank, it takes some in, then some gas comes out of the vent line! What would cause that
Either an obstruction in the tank, or collapsed filler hose. In my experience, for the rear tank at least, the hose has an easier time if it's flattened out somewhat. New hose sets have a C-clamp for this purpose. No idea why and how that translates to a midship tank, if at all.

Is there some mechanical voodoo going on with the filler neck that prevents gas from escaping through the vent line?
Nope.

Old 03-17-2014, 11:09 PM
notthemaniusedtobe
Senior User
If your vent hoses are disconnected, the first things to do would be reconnect them, otherwise you're pretty much guaranteeing a fuel spill while filling and driving.