1957 - 1960 F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Box Style Ford Trucks

Anyone put a Tremec in a 57-60?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2014, 07:49 AM
niteowl
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anyone put a Tremec in a 57-60?

I am looking to put a Tremec TKO-500 into my 60 F-100.
I am thinking of going with the hydraulic clutch version but I have no knowledge of these. What else would I need besides the Transmission to make the hydraulic setup work? Is the transmission already setup with a hydraulic throwout bearing and so I would require the external parts?

I am a total newbie with hydraulic clutches. I see the kits are rather expensive and other than one model Tremec being listed as hydraulic and one not I do not know what the physical differences are to help determine what other parts I would need.

Any issues with hooking up hydraulic to the existing clutch pedal in the truck?

I will be putting in a 302. I have not chosen headers yet but suspect I should not have much trouble with clearance if going with hydraulic since I will not have to worry about routing the cable.

Thanks in advance.

Trent

Old 02-27-2014, 09:12 AM
GB SISSON
Lead Driver
Received 91 Likes on 47 Posts
I'm guessing the hydraulic model may have the internal hydraulic TO bearing. This eliminates the fork/pivot setup and the bearing. which for lack of a better term, telescopes out when the pedal is depressed. Picture a hydraulic cylinder with a hole through the center. My mechanic friend recently mentioned a lot of modern vehicles use such a setup. They always replace them when doing a clutch for obvious reasons. What exactly is the tremec? 5 speed?

Old 02-27-2014, 11:02 AM
niteowl
Senior User
Originally Posted by GB SISSON