General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

demo derby tips

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2003, 10:26 PM
rebel_ford4x4
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
demo derby tips

this summer im running in my first demo derby, ive watched demos all my life since i was a little kid but this is my first time running in one. ive got a mid 70s buick electra with a 400 in it for 40 bucks and it runs. ive been told i have a good car. i was just wondering if anyone could give me any pointers for before or during the demo. thanks.

Old 06-16-2003, 04:39 PM
stubborn1
Junior User
demo derby tips

Make sure to bypass the heater core. My uncle didn't do this once and part of the heater core broke open during the race. The hot coolant came flying through the vents and left a few burns.

Also, if the event will allow it, pre-dent the metal around the tires. Hammering it in now could avoid the chance that someone hits a fresh body panel and pierces a tire.

Old 06-16-2003, 04:40 PM
tellico racing
Posting Guru
demo derby tips

You will want to weld the rear gears up so they are posi (if it is allowed), I found that you may want to notch the top of the frame behind the rear wheels with a torch, this will allow the rear to bend upward instead of down and plowing into the ground.

If possible, after notching the frame, put a chain behind the rear window, hook a truck to each end, and pull it really tight. then take a hi-lo or some other piece of heavy equipment and bend the rear of the car up a little to be sure that it goes up when hit and not down.

Take the mechanical fan off and add an electric fan, remove the brackets holding the radiator in and replace them with some rubber straps...this will help keep the radiator from being destroyed when hit in the front. also double clamp the radiator hoses so they dont blow off when you overheat it.

Thats all I can think of right now, good luck.

Old 06-16-2003, 04:46 PM
MustangGT221
Post Fiend