Runs rough when hot.

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2003, 06:30 PM
danlee
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Runs rough when hot.

I have a '53 F100. It has a highly modified 400 engine w/ 351C-4V heads and C6 tranny. I have been running this setup for a couple of years. I take it to shows and drive in parades.

It has a 750 CFM Carter carb, and Carter electric fuel pump. It also has a Mallory Unilite Dist. and a Holley Annihilator CD unit.

It runs great, until the hot weather starts. If I am in a parade, I try not to run the engine until the parade starts. All along the parade route I have no trouble at low throttle. It runs fine and idles fine. After the parade is over and I head out onto the highway it get very rough when I give it some throttle. It feels like fouled plugs, but it doesn't clear itself after running a while, and it idles and runs at low throttle fine. The engine temperature stays at 180 -190. If I park it for a while and let it cool, it is OK again.

I have been all over the ignition and changed plugs. I contacted Autolite and they recommended the plugs that I am using. It has 10.3:1 CR and requires colder plugs. Autolite suspected unvaporized fuel, but that would be more likely at colder temps. not the hot temps and it would tend to correct itself after running and also affect the idle and low speed operation.

I suspect boiling fuel. My fuel line is rubber hose, from the pump to the carb inlet. The steel line from the tank to the pump passes buy the left header outlet. I have a GM type metal in-line fuel filter in front of the fuel pump. The carb sits on a 1" Aluminum spacer on an Edelbrock Performer(Aluminum) intake, but I am mystified why it runs OK at low throttle.

It may be a partially blocked fuel filter, but why does it run OK when cool?

What is the proper method to prevent boiling fuel?
If I could measure the carb temp, what should it be below?
Should I get an insulating spacer?
How about metal fuel lines or do they make it worse?