6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Help! Degas bottle has allot of pressure.

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2013, 02:19 PM
Arrowheadexpress
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help! Degas bottle has allot of pressure.

First of I'm new to this forum so hello everyone, iv been lurking for a while and already learnt allot. My truck is a 2004 f350 with around 170,000 KMS. I just bought this truck and about a day later I notice allot more pressure in the degas bottle after driving it then in my f450. I took it to a shop today and they die tested for gasses in the coolant and it had no color change but they were clueless about why it was building so much pressure, it also didn't bubble for about 3 minutes. I'm assuming the issue would be a clogged oil cooler but I'm new to diesel motors and no one around here is proving able to diagnose the issue and fix it by a reasonable date. Can I diagnose the oil cooler another way on my own? What are other possible problems that could cause this?

Old 06-20-2013, 02:53 PM
thomabb
Cargo Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Please clarify - why do you think your degas bottle has too much pressure? is it venting / outgassing?

Old 06-20-2013, 03:07 PM
BLADE35
Hotshot
Received 70 Likes on 50 Posts
Lots of easy stuff will cause PUKE

Wheres the Bubbles coming from??? Small Return Lines??

You need a ScanGaugeII or something to see all sensor with and to complete oil cooler test

Old 06-20-2013, 03:44 PM
Mr.Nobody
Elder User
I had the same thing happen to me. Next day after buying my X, coolent out of the degas bottle. Had the cap tested at orielly's, it would almost hod 4lbs of pressure. New cap, and removed some of the coolent, so that the coolent level is at the min mark, issue resolved for the moment.

Old 06-20-2013, 06:30 PM
Arrowheadexpress
Freshman User