1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thump??

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2003, 12:06 AM
TomB
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Thump??

Hey, it's my first time, ok? My 03 250 SD 2wd, at, longbed 5.4, does this thump thing. When you start moving forward slowly, sometimes there's a small but solid thump--you hear it and can even feel it. The first time, you think you ran over something, or something hit you. I'm wondering if it's something in the heating/ventilating system, vacuum operated and kicking something open, or closed. Any thoughts? Thanx

Old 06-01-2003, 12:14 AM
RRMike
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thump??

There have been reports of a thump from the hvac system. Try starting your truck and wait a minute and see if it does it if you don't move. That would rule out a drivetrain issue.

Old 06-01-2003, 12:31 PM
TomB
New User
Thump??

Hi...
No, it doesn't do it sitting still. The noise, btw, comes from the right footwell area. I wonder if when accelerating away the vacuum/pressure changes in the hvac system are changing enough to do some action or other. Still confused, but that's nothing new.........

Old 06-01-2003, 12:45 PM
jbrowning
Junior User
Thump??

Tom,