1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Wow! I'm a pro welder now.

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2013, 11:19 PM
fixnair
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Wow! I'm a pro welder now.

Just hooked up my new Mig welder and what a difference it makes. It is so much easier to run a row of nickels. I should have bought one of these years ago. I'll never go back to my stick welder.
I am excited about patching my floorboards now. I was dreading it with my stick welder.
I'm impressed!

Old 01-27-2013, 11:30 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 613 Likes on 380 Posts
Which one did you buy?

Old 01-27-2013, 11:30 PM
Rokcrln
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Now just wait until you try TIG !
Have fun with the new toy and for your floor boards you will want to run an .023 solid core wire with a 25/75 argon mix. This set up makes sheet metal work so much nicer than any other MIG combo.

Kevin
LFD Inc.

Old 01-28-2013, 07:03 AM
qmanconfused
Senior User
what brand did u buy? what power is it? what input does it have? i just bought a new mig also but haven't used it yet. i have easy access to 220v but i got a 110v unit. should i send it back?

quentin

Old 01-28-2013, 08:54 AM
raytasch
Believe Nothing

Received 255 Likes on 159 Posts
Originally Posted by fixnair
Just hooked up my new Mig welder and what a difference it makes. It is so much easier to run a row of nickels. I should have bought one of these years ago. I'll never go back to my stick welder.
I am excited about patching my floorboards now. I was dreading it with my stick welder.
I'm impressed!
My feelings, exactly. Been a couple times I wished I still had my old arc welder, though.

Old 01-28-2013, 09:37 AM
AXracer
Hotshot
Received 61 Likes on 36 Posts
Have you read my MIG welding tutorial?