Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Attention Painters....Quick Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2012, 10:12 PM
gjgarre
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Attention Painters....Quick Question

First off, I am new to paint, but I plan to take my time and pay attention to the details before I start. I am really considering painting my truck when tax return time comes, but until then I am doing all the research i can. One question I cannot seem to find an answer for is as follows:

My truck is two toned, Dark green/blue, and white, and I am looking to do a single color repaint. Is it going to be necessary to prime the entire truck first, even though the paint is in pretty good shape? I am just wondering if I put a new base coat over the two tone, that the final color may be light in the white spots and darker in other spots. Is that a logical concern?

By the way, I am not sure what color I want to go with, but I am planning on going with a urethane base coat/clear coat.

Thanks in advance.

Old 12-22-2012, 10:17 PM
AlaskanEx
Bleed Ford Blue

Received 128 Likes on 43 Posts
i would seal it first with a sealer depending on what color your going with so long as your paint is in good shape.

mine was blue/grey. i used a red sealer before putting my burnt orange base coat on.

Old 12-22-2012, 10:26 PM
gjgarre
Freshman User
Originally Posted by AlaskanEx
i would seal it first with a sealer depending on what color your going with so long as your paint is in good shape.

mine was blue/grey. i used a red sealer before putting my burnt orange base coat on.
Thank you, that is what I was wondering. Last thing I want after spending all the time and money to repaint it, is to have a light strip of paint all the way around its center.

Old 12-22-2012, 10:29 PM
Puddy
FTE Chapter Leader
Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts