1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

exhaust pop/ backfire

Old 03-03-2012, 09:00 PM
firedup
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
exhaust pop/ backfire

You all are certain to get a good laugh outa this one - I'm relatively new to American iron most of my cars having been sports cars,small trucks or hot rod aircooled VW'S of which i still have a sand rail but thats another story for another day.I have a 70' F-250 camper special 3/4 ton - I have no idea what kinda mileage its got - any who it came with a nice set of stainless albeit old and crusty merged collector headers those i've retained somewhere along the line someone tossed a 390 4 barrel iron manifold on it and a 750 Edelbrock carb - got it rebuilt but it still ran like ****..Everyone was telling me thats way too much carb so i got a 600cfm Motorcraft on there and it seems to like that very much along with the Edelbrock aluminum manifold i'd put on to match the 750.Have also installed an MSD billet disto with the 6A box - very nice - Alright heres the fun part i was trying to find TDC on # 1 had the plug out and was bumping it with a starter button and had a tweaker straight blade screwdriver in the plug hole i left it there turned the engine over heard a sharp ping and the screwdriver shot outa there bounced off the underside of the hood and landed in the garage - it must've gotten caught under i'm assuming the exhaust valve for # 1 the piston came up and bam snapped the tip off it which fell back down inside the chamber - You have NO idea the relief i felt in being able to fish that little ******* outa there with a slim magnet.Several months later and the truck runs very good really - I did a compression test on it last weekend,145 in 5 cyl's,`140 in 2,& 135 in the last one which was NOT the one with the snapped screwdriver incident.Now when its running at idle sounds and runs great - when its warmed up - gas it and as soon as you let off it will pop/ mild backfire