1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Good or bad?

Old 02-25-2012, 10:49 PM
wakeboarder32
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Good or bad?

Just started into my cab today on my 56 F100, needs a lot of work but thought i would get suggestions on the condition of the cab and how i should go about fixing it. This is my first build and am learning alot. I think i will go to harbor freight and buy one of their $100 welders, any suggestions? The 408W is complete and readay to go, I also have prepped the new frame, ill add those pics shortly. Thanks!!

Old 02-25-2012, 10:57 PM
wakeboarder32
Senior User
Motor and new frame

Still trying to figure out what vehicle my front clip came out of. I thought it was a 72-76 torino, the only reason i came up with that is from all the pictures ive looked at online of other front ends, i could be wrong but the motor mounts i ordered for it fit like they are supposed to so im pretty stoked about that. The only thing i have left to do is rebuild the front suspension, the only thing i came up with doing is tearing all one side down and sending all the bushings and ball joints in to see if they can match them up, thats the only way i can think to make sure i get the right stuff. Any one know any good sites for suspension rebuild kits? Thanks.

Old 02-25-2012, 11:42 PM
yamagrant
Lead Driver
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
It looks like that cab is dam near perfect. My recomendations for front end parts are MOOG, I spent 25 yrs specializing in front end and brakes, and found their products (IMO) to be the best by far.

Old 02-26-2012, 12:27 AM
52 Merc
Hotshot
Received 2,410 Likes on 1,370 Posts
I agree, from what I see, that cab is in excellent shape. I'm not even sure what you'll need a welder for.