Sponsored by: Moser

Does anyone want a F-150 diesel option?

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2011, 09:44 PM
460trazy
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
deisel f 150

Sad but true. The government is NOT going to allow anything practical into our market. But if they did I think a diesel motor in an f 150 would be cool. The only thing is, when I think f150, I think peppy lil 4wd with a solid front axle and maybe a locked rear end. Why not? Make us an f150 with a shorter stroke turbo diesel and some solid as hell running gear. Peppy, decent fuel mileage, and just plain solid. That's what i would expect from a diesel f150, not towing or hauling capacity. But of course the government doesnt want us to go off road either, so whatever.

Old 11-11-2011, 11:00 AM
OMSF250
Freshman User
Originally Posted by drmikegallant
I've been driving a 1975 Mercedes 240D for more than 15 years. The car was my grandmother's, then my fathers, and now it's still nearly all original at over 350,000 miles. It weighed nearly 4000lbs and had a whopping 62hp. That was enough hp to take it above redline and past 90mph on level ground. (Sorry I was 16 once)

Nobody needs all the power they have. Of course, power is fun.

HA!

I gotcha beat! 88HP in my 300d Turbo!!!!

I can only describe the acceleration curve as something like launching the space shuttle..... veeeery.....veeeery......veeeery strenuous off the line..... but then the turbo kicks on and it's to the moon Alice!

Of course.... If I ever fixded the exhaust leak at the manifold... I might get some more air to the turbo at lower end, but then again, these beasts aren't known for their factory off line settings..... they were meant to run fast at speed.