1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

Weird chirp/squeal from crank pulley?

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2011, 09:46 PM
erikwi
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weird chirp/squeal from crank pulley?

Hello all, noob here on the forum with a question. I have a 97 Mazda B4000 4WD with 94k on the clock that's making a chirp/squeal from the underhood area. I thought it was a bearing going in the water pump, so I just replaced it tonight. Noise still there. I ran it with the fan off, noise still there, so I pulled the belt off and it still has this squeal. At this point I'm wondering if it's the front oil seal but I don't see how a rubber seal can squeal. The noise sounds a lot like a slipping belt, even though it does it with the belt off. Another thought that crossed my mind is (gulp) front main bearing failing. Any suggestions? I had the presence of coolant in an oil sample a while back according to the Blackstone report, but the second sample I sent in had negligible coolant in it. I traced that to the timing cover gasket seeping and tightened the bolts down. Thanks!

Old 09-06-2011, 12:21 AM
ford2go
Cargo Master
Received 142 Likes on 87 Posts
Try using a long screwdriver as a stethoscope and see if you can hear where the noise is loudest. BE CAREFUL around all of the moving parts.

hj

Old 09-06-2011, 04:56 AM
erikwi
New User
Originally Posted by ford2go
Try using a long screwdriver as a stethoscope and see if you can hear where the noise is loudest. BE CAREFUL around all of the moving parts.

hj