Sponsored by: Moser

short circuit

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2011, 10:15 PM
SteveJH
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
short circuit

Alright, I'm not that good with electrical stuff but I've got to find the short in my truck's electrics.
1978 F350 former U-Haul box truck, 4 speed, 332ci
The alt light comes on, and will only go off at higher RPM. If I disconnect the negative terminal on the battery and put a voltmeter in there, it's getting voltage across it. The voltmeter does not show any current at the fuses.
What would be the best place to start?
I haven't had the truck long - the last owner said he replaced the alternator and it does look new.

thanks,
-Steve

Old 07-10-2011, 10:36 PM
Laughing Gas
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
The Alt light in my truck will come on randomly but my voltmeter reads good so I just ignore it to be honest. When you say you have no power at the fuses you mean the fuses on the firewall right? If you do I would just assume you have a broken wire going to them or a poor contact on them with your tester.

Old 07-10-2011, 10:49 PM
SteveJH
Senior User
My alt light is always on.
My cheapie repair manual says I should disconnect the negative terminal to the battery and see if there is current between the cable and the battery when they are disconnected. There is, it shows 12v when I touch the (-) terminal and the disconnected cable.
It says to then remove each fuse and check the cable after each to isolate the circuit that is shorting. I figured I should just test it at the fuse box by touching the voltmeter to each end of the fuse connection. I did not find any current at the fuses.

Old 07-10-2011, 11:00 PM
Laughing Gas
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Originally Posted by SteveJH
.....I did not find any current at the fuses.