1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

3 valve head in 5.4 E350?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2011, 02:14 PM
BAD RONALD
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3 valve head in 5.4 E350?

I am still learning about my 2004 E350 5.4. I am the second owner, bought the van in July 2010 and it has 63,000 miles. I have heard assurances that the 3 valve heads were not used in van engines, only in 5.4 pick ups from 2004-2007. Anybody like to confirm this?
I am an "if it ain't broke don't break it" backyarder. That said, I am considering changing the spark plugs soon, way in advance of the 100,000 mile schedule. Paranoid about snapping plugs off. Is this a real or imaginary concern?
The "old school" in me has a problem with working on a vehicle that is in perfect running order. I'm talkin' extraordinarily clean here. I am extremely fortunate to wind up with a truck from a meticulous first owner.

Old 06-04-2011, 02:35 PM
maples01
Logistics Pro
Received 89 Likes on 85 Posts
I say take it to Ford for plugs, it's a nightmare, opening the doghouse is like peering into Pandora's box, but yes, vans were behind the trucks, space constraints and due to keeping them reliable since they had a heavy commercial base. Trucks were a guinea pig, once the bugs were worked out, it moved into the vans, yet the van received a detuned version from the trucks, and spent less time in the shop, aside from the nightmare 6.0, which lost Ford it's big stake in the commercial market. If you believe me wrong about my diesel claim, Ford dominated the ambulance market, every one you saw was an Econoline, after the 6.0, you see Chevy's, even read the write up from Ambulance services, upset their 6.0's spent the majority of it's life in the shop, the gasser didn't, but operation costs was murder.