Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Just bought a 2001 F350 7.3 Ext Cab XLT

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2012, 12:22 PM
Reidicus
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Just bought a 2001 F350 7.3 Ext Cab XLT

Hello all, I have made the move from a 6.0L diesel to a 7.3L diesel for the sheer fact of reliability. Im new to the 7.3 L diesel and dont have all the abbreviations down yet that I have been reading up on. Some I know, some have me scratching my head.

I bought this truck with 318000 km's on it which I find to be just broken in. Was having issues starting up in the mornings when cold. Would turn and turn and turn. Blowing smoke out the exhause. I changed out the glow plugs by doing some research. Now it starts every time. Havent had a problem yet. Not even a puff of smoke at start! Also installed a AFE stage 2 cold air intake kit. Cleaned up the engine compartment a bit more.

I could tell that this truck hase'nt seen the inside of a shop for some time. The valve covers were baked with soot and the boost tube plastic boots felt like they were glued on. I cleaned them up and removed the foil from the one (looks much better) and cleaned the valve covers. Thats when I found the bright orange engine sticker.

There were a few things that I noticed. At an idle when first started, I can hear what sounds like air escaping from somewhere. (near back of engine). It dosent start right away. About 2-3 min after startup from cold.

The next is the idle. Its a little rough but no skipping. More like a small variation of about 20-50 rpms. You can watch the tac slightly move up and down. More or less does it when engine is warm. No power issues when hitting the throttle.

The drive belt is frayed possibly to the pully idle arm? Tried looking at it to see how straight it is and for any movement. Picked up a second belt just in case. Will get this looked at soon.