175 psi on drivers side bank????

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2011, 11:22 PM
lannondiesel
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
175 psi on drivers side bank????

Ok, I have been building 1973-79 Ford trucks for 15 years. But i am new to engine work. Engines have always been cheap and available around here so whenever I had a problem I just threw in a different engine. But recently I threw together and engine for fun with various parts I had laying around. Not really sure what to expect.

Lower end and block, cam, etc was a mid eighties carbed 460 (ran good but had 100k on it). Heads are Dove C heads that were on a built 460 that I bought from a pawn shop. This motor was amazing until at about 500 miles it blew a head gasket and bent 2 rods (motor was newly complete when I got it and the head gasket had been installed wrong) I scrapped the lower end years ago but hung onto these heads. I assembled the above block with with the above heads and threw on a wieland stealth intake and L&L fenderwell exit headers I had laying around. Also a MSD ignition box. Kind of just threw it all together to see what happens. Also threw on a edelbrock 750cfm carb i had.