Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

lifter tap

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2011, 01:08 PM
351_driver
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
lifter tap

hello im new to this, i have a 94 f150 300+ thou miles it has wat i think to be lifter tap... just recently pulled engine changed oil pump, dissy, spark plugs, oil pressure unit, and head gaskets set.... pulled lifters disasembled and put back together when doin all other work. it taps through the whole rpm range and at idle truck somtimes does not have oil pressure..... please help 17 and trying to go to collage soon for automotive tech.

Old 04-27-2011, 03:38 PM
ChristopherN
Elder User
You think it's a lifter tap? You're going to school for this, take it apart and find out!

kidding

You made sure you have the correct head gasket right? I've read some stories of people getting what they think is the right head gasket set and the new gaskets have less holes for some reason, despite the part numbers matching up. You didn't have any "extra parts" after you were done with this right? What do you mean by disassembling the lifters?

Old 04-27-2011, 03:49 PM
White Max
Laughing Gas
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by 351_driver
...and at idle truck somtimes does not have oil pressure.....
That would be the problem. Was it tapping before you pulled the engine and replaced those parts? How was the oil pressure beforehand as well? Are/were you relying on the stock gauge (glorified idiot light) for oil pressure readings, or are you using a real gauge? Lastly, why wouldn't you at least replace the main and rod bearings on a 300K mile engine while you had it out of the truck with the oil pan off?

Old 04-27-2011, 03:50 PM
White Max
Laughing Gas
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by ChristopherN
What do you mean by disassembling the lifters?