1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

99 f150 caliper prob

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2010, 03:51 PM
>>OZZY<<
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
99 f150 caliper prob

Hi all, this is my first time here at the community, so I am still figuring out how the search function works....Could some one link me to a guide for changing calipers on a F150..It would be appreciated. thanks

The problem is the the drver side brakes are not working, it has a hard time releasing the parking brake, and when brakeing the car is pulling to the right.

Old 12-15-2010, 09:50 PM
Dave G.
Elder User
It seems you have two issues going. Long time since the last brake job ? I believe you have a sticking piston in the right front caliper. That will drag and cause the truck to pull to the right. I suggest just changing the two front calipers, although, they could be rebuilt. Compressing the caliper with a clamp ( carefully/slowly) will usually free up the caliper enough to remove it (get the replacements first though). As quickly as you can, remove the two retaining bolts on the back side of the caliper, remove the flex line. Have the rebuilt caliper ready, with the pads, hardware, and guide rails lightly greased, within easy reach. The quicker you can change them, the less air will be filling the line. Caution here though, something caused the piston to stick. Might be extremely thin pad linings caused too much travel in the pistons, and they are stuck in a corroded part of the bore, or, you may have moisture in the brake system, and that ruined the caliper bore. When both sides are done, bleed the fronts until nothing but clean fluid is removed.