PLEASE help with this noise dio... Maddening!

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2010, 06:25 PM
mabigredtruck
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PLEASE help with this noise dio... Maddening!

1975 F250, 390, 4bbl, comp 268h kit, stock heads, headers, msd.

I have been chasing a noise for a few months now and am at my wits end. I rarely and barely hear it when the motor is cold, once warm/hot the noise is most noticeable at 1500 rpm with my foot just resting on the gas, no load. I hear it on decel from cruise, 2-2.5k; as the tach sweeps down past 1500rpm the noise fades in and then back out once around 1300 rpm. I have now begun to hear it faintly at around 2k, also with no load and foot resting on the gas. I do not hear it under hard acceleration. Its a pretty healthy "tick" and almost sounds like a really sharp exhaust leak.

its definitely coming from the drivers side of the motor.

i have replaced the header gasket 3 times now, all with no evidence of a leak big enough to make half as much noise.

i have run the motor with the valve cover pulled and can't pinpoint the noise with a steth or a rubber hose. all lifters/pushrods were spinning, though some more sporadically than others

i checked lash on all valves 5-8 and they held my .147 stack of feelers snuggly (lifters compressed, pumped back up immediately after releasing them)

i have checked and rechecked timing, jetting, plug gap.

i have no idea where to look next, oil pressure, temp and overall feel are all great. sorry for the long post, any help is appreciated.

Old 08-29-2010, 08:42 PM
Moto Mel
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Try using the stethescope from under the engine with a friend doing the gas. Check the block walls at each cylinder to pinpoint the location. You may have a loose wrist pin or a piston slap starting.

Old 08-29-2010, 09:16 PM
mabigredtruck
Senior User