Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2010, 07:23 PM
megmat
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy SES light will NOT go off

Hey guys, long story short version:

2002 f-150, 4.2L v-6, 5 speed.

for a year now the SES light has been on.
Started out with both banks lean, now only bank 1 lean (again).
I'm not able to provide the specific codes at this time.
I'm a certified tech so I feel kinda stupid by this point.

Multiple scans, Multiples parts thrown it's way:

3 DPFE sensors
EGR Valve
3 MAF's
2 complete sets of O2 sensors (2 each bank)
Plenum spacer with updated isolator bolts (twice)
New plugs (wires were good at the time)
Of course new air filter (on regular basis), new fuel filter(s), oil changes every 3k, Trans and differential serviced regularly.

Fuel injectors test fine, no noticeable running problems (sometimes a little bit rough at first start up for about 2 minutes).
Have checked for vac leaks throughout (smoke machine, and the old reliable carb cleaner near possible leak locations).

It's also had a couple sea foam "treatments".
AND: it makes no difference how many times I reset the code(s), they keep coming back.
I'm ready to drive this thing in to the lake.
have NOT replaced the cats, coil, plug wires or fuel injectors.

Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated, I have to get this thing inspected next month and the light cannot be on (or reset within 2 cycles).

Old 07-05-2010, 11:44 PM
ottawaguy
Elder User
Originally Posted by megmat
Hey guys, long story short version:

2002 f-150, 4.2L v-6, 5 speed.

for a year now the SES light has been on.
Started out with both banks lean, now only bank 1 lean (again).
I'm not able to provide the specific codes at this time.
I'm a certified tech so I feel kinda stupid by this point.

Multiple scans, Multiples parts thrown it's way:

3 DPFE sensors
EGR Valve
3 MAF's
2 complete sets of O2 sensors (2 each bank)
Plenum spacer with updated isolator bolts (twice)
New plugs (wires were good at the time)