1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Dentsides Ford Truck
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

Very strange taillight problem - light goes out when brake is depressed. Why?

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2010, 12:07 AM
WPlayer
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Very strange taillight problem - light goes out when brake is depressed. Why?

Hi, as mentioned in the title, when the brake is depressed the passenger brake light illuminates appropriately, whereas the driver's taillight (with parking lights on) goes out when the brake pedal is depressed...no light. What the heck?!

This is on a '78 F-250 Camper Special. I'm new to these trucks (only owned it about a day) so any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Old 07-05-2010, 12:13 AM
fmc400
MSEE
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
This sounds like a ground issue. 9 times out of 10, the problem is in the socket itself, meaning replacing the socket solves the problem. It's strange that it goes out completely, however, instead of dimming (which is often the case). You could verify this by probing the socket terminals with a multimeter while a buddy works the brake pedal - if you see something like 2 or 3 volts (or anything much less than 12) at the socket with the lights on and the brake pedal pressed, that would point to a ground issue. However if you see no voltage at all, then maybe it's a little more complicated.

Old 07-05-2010, 12:19 AM
Ace.
Senior User
I've had a problem similar to this on 2 of my trucks, no driver side brake light, replaced bulbs, socket, some of the wiring and couldn't figure it out until one night I was messing around with the turn signal switch and I noticed it was coming on if I pushed it up! I never fixed it, I would just hold the switch up at stop lights but I figured it was the switch inside the steering had gotten worn out, napa sells a repair kit for $17 online, maybe cheaper at your local store or replace the whole thing for $59

Old 07-05-2010, 12:39 AM