1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I hate my tires.

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2023, 02:48 PM
RuthMorgan
Trailering
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
I hate my tires.

2001 F250 Superduty
I honestly appreciate anyone who even reads this post. I’m very new at this and am trying to learn the culture as fast as I can.
I replaced every front end bushing and ball and axel pivot I could find using the highest endest parts I could find.
BUT
Any dip from a gutter or bump from a tree root- my tires grab hold and pops me either on the sidewalk or on into the next lane.
PLUS
Turning side to side really strains my hydraulic steering ram.
This>>> I’m really interested in anyone’s opinion for which tires will be the easiest to turn left and right and go straight. I have no interest in all weather or performance since I won’t drive in the rain and will never leave the pavement. Plus, the embarrassing fact that this truck is only 2-wheel drive.
I can’t even find anyone outside of a TA Truckstop to balance my tires.
Current tires: TOYO M/T 38X15.50R20LT 125Q 8 P.R.

Old 02-24-2023, 03:30 PM
Jimmy's Pilot Service
Laughing Gas
Received 224 Likes on 175 Posts
Your problem is not your tires.... kind of...

The big offset, lifted, and mud tires were not in original design of the steering system. If you want better performance you likely need to completely up size non stock components serious duty components and use rams for control of the steering system.

Old 02-24-2023, 03:43 PM
OverheadCram
Fleet Mechanic
Received 1,085 Likes on 650 Posts
If you are going for function then returning your truck to factory specs would be the best option, and will cure your mentioned problems.

If you want that look of the truck as is, then spend the money for aftermarket components (if even available) with the proper spec to the modifications done.

Old 02-24-2023, 04:10 PM
Y2KW57