2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
View Poll Results: Should I get a Tranny Flush or Drain performed?
Flush
46.67%
Drain
53.33%
Voters: 60. You may not vote on this poll

Tranny Flush versus Drain?

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2010, 01:22 PM
V8EXPLR
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tranny Flush versus Drain?

Okay, I'm stuck with a problem.

My '06 F-150 is nearing 30K miles and want to have the tranny serviced. My issue is, I've heard too many people complain of tranny failure after having a flush performed. While I've heard hardly anyone has had such problems with a simple drain.

Of course I want to extend the life of the tranny as far as possible, so I prefer to have a flush to get all the old fluid out. But if this will cause premature failure, I'd prefer to go the drain route.

I'm fairly new to auto transmissions, as all my previous rides, except one, were manuals. Truly wish the F150 5.4L came with a manual tranny. Any suggestions on thoughts?

Old 03-01-2010, 01:40 PM
jstnromero
Postmaster
I have had 2 flushes performed and have had no ill effects. The deal with flushing versus a drain is that the flush changes all (the majority of the fluid) vs a very small amount when dropping the pan. I go by what ford calls for (the flush) as this is supposed to be more than sufficient and is what they recommend. The way that I see it is that the Ford engineers would call a different procedure if the truck should need it. Just my .10 tho.

~jstnromero

Old 03-01-2010, 01:58 PM
Beechkid
Received 210 Likes on 160 Posts
I would say this, like any service work it boils down to the tech. Since there are very few i trust, I flushed the tranny myself using the good ol, disconnect the line at the radiator mounter trans cooler, changed the filter (first time only), fill with fluid and then fire up the engine and when 4 qts dump into the bucket, shut it off & refill the pan.