1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

84' Corvette 350 ci CONVERSION on my '54 F250

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2009, 02:03 PM
clobe26
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
84' Corvette 350 ci CONVERSION on my '54 F250

Hey Fellas! I got a bit of a DOOZY for y'all. Well a buddy of mine (who's a repo man by trade) is sellin' my a complete 1984 Chevy Corvette with 80K original miles that been rained on (only because he didn't have any T-Tops for it & the interior is completely spent) for just $1k!! He actually lost a bet too, so its all in my favor.

Anyways I have been searching high & low to some Low-Budget IFS systems but no avail. I was going to option out gettin' a SIDS Drop axle for $300, but other fellas say there are more parts to get besides the axle. So my buddy asked if i wanted his Corvette for 1k? Sweet deal ryt? But what concerns me is the suspension. So my questions are these:

#1 - Welding on the ENTIRE front end, will it be worth it?
#2 - How cheap is it to SOUP-UP the 350ci?
#3 - I know all u FORD heads are strictly FORDS...should I just leave in my 272 Y-Block with 3 on the tree & call it a day?

Let me know Fellas!! oh & also....any TECHY help is highly appreciated!!

~Cheers!

Old 11-27-2009, 03:14 PM
52 Merc
Hotshot
Received 2,451 Likes on 1,398 Posts
The first question to ask is, what do you really want to do with your truck? Do you want a hot rod pickup? Or would you be happy with, or rather have more of a stocker? The Corvette suspension is popular in certain circles. You could also buy a custom effie chassis that would utilize the vette suspension as bolt on components, add your body and the vette drivetrain and you're on the road. Selling your original parts would bring in about enough cash to pay for it. I'm not a big fan of clip jobs. There is a lot more hassles with them than most people realize, until their truck is cut in half.