1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

Looking for advice on general maintenance and upkeep

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2009, 02:22 PM
bigjohncs
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for advice on general maintenance and upkeep

Hello everyone. I drive a 1996 Ranger XLT (4.0, 4x4, 4R55E) with 152k. I purchased the truck last year for $2,700 when I replaced my 1982 F-150. I'm a college student, and I don't know much at all about upkeep and the basics I need to do on this truck.

So far I've had the following things done:

1. Total trans rebuild for ~$1,800
2. Ford Dealership cleaned up a bunch of engine codes and a moderate stuttering problem for ~$1,400
3. More trans work - reverse stopped working - for $1,500 (covered by warranty)
4. I change the oil every 3k
5. Changed the plugs and wires at 140k
6. new battery at 135k

I'd like this truck to last me until 2011 if possible. Can someone help me draw up a list of what I should do preventative maintenance wise? The only thing I can think of is regular oil changes, but I'm sure there are more things to be done to keep the truck in good shape.

Also, can someone point me in the right direction to buy a driver's side turn signal cover (just the orange piece)? I ran into a wild boar and smashed my light

Old 07-26-2009, 07:19 PM
michigan66
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to FTE. This is a great place to get good help and suggestions.

You should consider changing some of your filters - fuel and air particularly. If the air filter needs replacing, consider cleaning the Mass Air Flow (MAF) sensor with a spray cleaner specifically designed for that purpose.

You can look for a turn signal lens at a salvage yard, E-Bay, or LMC truck online.

Old 07-26-2009, 09:03 PM
sfcwoodret
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Have you replaced the water pump and flushed the radiator?

Old 07-26-2009, 10:39 PM
g_k50
Cargo Master
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts