Anti-sway set ups? Advice and pics needed

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2009, 11:30 AM
steve81
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anti-sway set ups? Advice and pics needed

I just recently upgraded to a 27' travel trailer and I'm looking for some advice on anti-sway options. I bought the trailer out of town and while towing it home, I noticed some trailer sway while going down the highway, especially when passing on-coming big rigs and areas where the wind was gusty. I have an F-350 and the trailer weighs about 4800 lbs dry. When hooked up to the trailer, the truck doesn't squat, so I don't think I need the weight distribution option.

Would I be ok with just buying an anti-sway dampener or should I get a weight distribution and anti-sway kit? Does anyone recommend a particular brand/manufacturer and a place on the internet to buy it? If you have pictures of your set-up, I'd love to see them. It might give me a piece of mind since I'm new to towing bigger trailers.

Thanks,
Steve

Old 07-23-2009, 11:59 AM
bpounds
Hotshot
Received 55 Likes on 43 Posts
Some trailers are better behaved than others. I've never felt the need to put mine on, even though I've carried it with me constantly. My trailer is shorter of course.

First thing I would do is check out your tongue weight. It needs to be at least 10% of the total trailer weight. You might need to work on balancing the items in your trailer for a better load distribution. If you are light on the tongue you risk serious sway issues, especially on downgrades.

Even so, you'll probably want some kind of sway control for a 27' unit. Those are usually combined with a WD hitch of some kind. I just have a friction slide unit similar to this:
http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...ol-right/42235