Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Just bought...

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2009, 10:14 PM
Mike454
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just bought...

Hello all, first off I am new here so hey ya'll! Well I just purchased a 2002 F250 7.3l diesel with about 134000 miles on it. Its a really clean truck. Now I am being sent to school to work on caterpillar machinery and as of now all I have worked on are bulldozers and such, so I am new to these trucks... I just wanted to get some input on cheap upgrades that are a must? intake maybe, new exhaust from turbo back, I dunno, thats why I'm asking the pros! And anything I should look at to detect pre-mature failure> Maybe save me a few bucks... anywho, seems like a good bunch a guys on here who know there stuff, so any advice is greatly appreciated!
Thanks, Mike

Old 07-12-2009, 10:24 PM
WA.Ranger
Postmaster

Mike, welcome! You will be an expert on the 7.3 in no time with help of others on here. I would first look at your turbo's intake side impellar and make sure it isn't "dusted". Then I would ditch the stock intake and filter and do the 6637 mod and exhaust. Sky is the linit from there!

Old 07-12-2009, 10:25 PM
nissandoc
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to FTE. Your gonna like it around here. Powerstrokejunkie wrote thread on the common mods and the order they should be done in but I dont have a link. Maybe someone can throw it up for you. I personaly would start by changing all your fluids unless you have some king of record that shows when the were done. Since you have some knowledge of diesels it wont take you long to get up to speed. Do some reading on here, its the best way to learn. Dont be afraid of asking questions either, you wont get your head bit off around here.

Where are you located?

Last edited by nissandoc; 07-12-2009 at 10:26 PM. Reason: add
Old 07-13-2009, 12:22 AM
gasgrunt88
Elder User
Here you go Mike, check these out!

http://www.roadsidehelpnetwork.info/...s/Page1344.htm