2002 F250 5.4 Won't Start after plug repair

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2009, 11:12 AM
scootjockey
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 F250 5.4 Won't Start after plug repair

Howdy everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum. Hopefully someone can help me.

I've got an '02 Superduty F250. The sparkplug came out on the passenger side-rear (hardest one to get to, of course). Long story short, it looks like I was lucky and maybe it just worked it's way out, because I was able to run a tap through gently, and a new plug would thread in and torque to spec.

My problem now---It won't start. It cranks just fine, but the engine won't even try to catch. I have good fuel pressure at the fuel rail check point
(40 psi.). I can hear the pump running, in fact, it doesn't ever quit. I can hear the fuel hissing through the rails. The Idle Air Control solenoid is making a constant clunk-clunk sound the entire time that the key is on.

I've tried putting the original coil back on the rear cylinder, just in case the replacement is bad and causing a problem-no change. I've checked any fuse that the owners manual says anything about being related to ignition or engine control, and swapped relays around in the fuse panel to see if the relay went bad-no change. I bought an Actron brand code reader at the parts store, and it says that it can't connect with the vehicle-check connection. I plugged it into my '96 Park Avenue, and it interfaced just fine. I've heard from a mechanic that his Ford Ranger also had that problem with a Snap-On tool, so maybe it's just Fords in general?

I'm a good shade tree mechanic, but this is driving me nuts. Of course, this is happening right in the middle of moving, so I really need the truck working, and have no time to figure this out. Hopefully someone out there knows the magic words (and not, "Tow it to the shop" ;-). Thanks.

Old 05-23-2009, 02:37 PM
2000Ford2000
Elder User