1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

way off topic: full tube chassis cars

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2009, 12:01 AM
59flatbedford
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
way off topic: full tube chassis cars

ok so i found a couple of old mustang bodies sitting in this field with some other stuff and talked to the old guy that had and he said i could have them long as i took all the stuff but anyway back to the stang bodies. They turned out to be old stock car bodies so doors welded shut, fenders welded on and the floor is cut out and they are just the bare shell. so i was thinking about maybe just building a full tube chassis sort of deal and making a drag car or whatever out of them but this is an area is one i have no experience so i was wondering what you guys thought and if you guys could show me some pictures of some or just give me some input.

Old 05-10-2009, 12:39 AM
Stephen67
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
I've looked into it, I had planned on building my own car from the ground up before I remembered I needed a truck. Tubing isn't hard, but you need a tube bender to do it right, and an easy way to cut the ends for the joint, but besides that it's just cutting and welding basicly.

Couple huh? What years? I'll help you out with them if you let me have one! ^_^

Old 05-10-2009, 01:21 AM
AXracer
Hotshot
Received 53 Likes on 34 Posts
I have made a number of tube chassis and tube braced OEM chasss. I'd suggest using square or rectangular tubing for the main frame rails, round tubing (DOM mild steel, NOT chrome molly) for crossmembers and bracing. Take a look at the chassis that Art Morrison makes for design ideas.