Truck Camper Experts please take note...

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2002, 06:12 AM
DeenHylton
Elder User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm considering purchasing a "Lite" style of camper, probably no longer than 8' 6" so I can use my stock class-V trailer hitch. Any words of wisdom to one never having owned a camper before? See my signature line for my tow vehicle and it has the factory tow-package/Heavy-duty cooling. Do air-bags control the sway of the truck? Anything else I need to consider? My truck weighs 5750 lbs. wet, has a max GVWR of 8800#'s, and a max GCWR of 18,500#'s.
I'm figuring with my trailer (9,000#'s), loaded camper (2,200#'s) and a loaded truck I'll be under my GCWR by 500-800#'s. I'll be weighing the truck-trailer combination this weekend to see how my load is distributed with the equalizing hitch. Deen

Old 10-08-2002, 10:22 AM
jim henderson
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I have no experience with in the bed campers so take what I say with a grain of salt and use your head. If you estimate your camper and trailer etc all loaded up will get you within 500-800lbs of max GCVWR, I would be extra sure you are taking everything into account, especially passengers, "luggage" and water. I do tow a 30foot trailer and read Trailer Life Magazine, so that is the extent of my experience.

For example, my trailer can vary as much as 1,000lbs just due to how much water is in the 3 tanks. Add some ice chests(50lbs+ each), the kids junk, 600lbs of passengers, food, toys, bikes, bbqs etc and you can easily pass the weight rating of your truck.

Keep in mind the weights give for trailers and campers are the "standard" weight, ie the weight does't include the weight of options like AC, furniture, microwave, bigger bed etc. I have heard that campers are deceptively heavier than rated, once they are packed for the road. The camper may increase the drag, so your performance may suffer, escpecially in wind and hills.