1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

All you Jag suspension guys

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2009, 03:54 PM
Mr. N
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
All you Jag suspension guys

I bought my '53 F-100 about 2 years ago and have decided that this summer is the summer I'm going to get started on it.

I am looking at a complete frame off rebuild and the frame seems like the logical place to start. I am looking for a driver not a show Queen. This is my first attempt at a project of this magnitude. I would like IFS and like the thought of possibly IRS. After going over and over the many many options there are to accomplish this I keep coming back to the Jag step. But before I take the plunge I would like to here from those of you with a truck on the road with this set-up.
I am looking at a 1991 XJ6 as the donor.

1 - Does your truck ride and handle well?
2 - Does it feel like a soft cadilac or a stiff sports car?
3 - Have you had any problems getting parts?
4 - How much did it cost you to rebuild the IFS? IRS? To go from donor parts to road worthy?
5 - Can the xj6 IFS handle the weight of a 351W?
6 - If you had it to do all over again we you do anything different?

Thanks in advance for all your wisdom and advice.

P.S. Any install pictures are always great especially on a '53-'56 frame.

Old 02-02-2009, 06:33 PM
rhopper
Fleet Mechanic